January 2021
January 21, 2021

Schwartzman up for two awards

2 min read

Argentinian Diego Schwartzman has received for two nominations for the 2020 ATP Award to be held later this year.

The 28-year-old world number nine has been nominated for the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship and Most Improved awards.

His coach, Juan Ignacio Chela, has also been nominated by his peers for Coach of the Year.

(Photo by si.robi)

Schwartzman, who turned pro in 2010 will be up against three-time winner Rafael Nadal, John Millman and Dominic Thiem in the Sportsmanship category, and will be up against Ugo Humbert, Andrey Rublev and Jannik Sinner for the Most Improved Award.

At the 2020 Italian Open, Schwartzman defeated nine-time champion Nadal in straight sets in the quarterfinals, his first victory against the Spaniard.

He defeated world number three Dominic Thiem in the quarterfinals of the French Open, in a five-set match that took five hours and eight minutes to complete. It was his ninth career win over a top-10 player.

ATP Awards winners, including Fans’ Favourite and the recipient of the Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award, will be revealed later this month.


Comeback Player of the Year: The player who has overcome serious injury in re-establishing himself as one of the top players on the ATP Tour.

Kevin Anderson
Andrey Kuznetsov
Vasek Pospisil
Milos Raonic

Most Improved Player of the Year: The player who reached a significantly higher FedEx ATP Ranking by year’s end and who demonstrated an increasingly improved level of performance through the year.

Ugo Humbert
Andrey Rublev
Diego Schwartzman
Jannik Sinner

Newcomer of the Year: The #NextGenATP player who broke into the Top 100 or Top 150 for the first time in 2020 and made the biggest impact on the ATP Tour this season.

Carlos Alcaraz
Sebastian Korda
Lorenzo Musetti
Jurij Rodionov
Emil Ruusuvuori
Thiago Seyboth Wild

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award: The player who, throughout the year, conducted himself at the highest level of professionalism and integrity, who competed with his fellow players with the utmost spirit of fairness and who promoted the game through his off-court activities.

Rafael Nadal
John Millman
Diego Schwartzman
Dominic Thiem 

Coach of the Year: Nominated and voted on by fellow ATP coach members, this award goes to the ATP coach who helped guide his players to a higher level of performance during the year.

Gilles Cervara (Daniil Medvedev)
Juan Ignacio Chela (Diego Schwartzman)
Nicolas Massu (Dominic Thiem)
Riccardo Piatti (Jannik Sinner)
Fernando Vicente (Andrey Rublev)

Spread the love

More Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *